DIY facial lotion for dry, sensitive and red skin.

My skin is horrible. Horrible. Did I mention horrible? It’s dry, super sensitive, bumpy, and it is all red and puffy. I have never officially been diagnosed, but I’m pretty sure that I have rosacea. 

I’m fairly sure that my skin hates me. I’ve been told by the ladies at the beauty salon and the Dior counter that I really need to moisturize, but most of the time when I use a moisturizer it makes me break out even more. When I wear make up, I break out. When I use a face scrub, it’s bad. When I use most facial cleansers, I break out. It’s bad. Right now my facial routine is…. clean with water.

 

In this picture you get an idea of what I look like day to day: blotchy and kinda bumpy, but this is actually a pretty good day! I can get really red, especially if I’m stressed, haven’t been eating well or I get emotional.

I also find that if I avoid dairy products the redness seems to be a little better, but I decided that I can do more! When I switched to my DIY laundry detergent my skin was happier and my DIY conditioner made my scalp happier so maybe if I used an DIY moisturizer my face would be happier. Makes sense right?

I’ve been debating on what to do first: Cleanser, moisturizer, or a toner. I decided on the moisturizer because everyone keeps telling me that is exactly what I need so I thought I’d try it first, but I have plans on trying the others later.

I did a lot of online research and I decided to use a product with Aloe Vera, Almond oil, Jojoba oil, and vegetable glycerin. Why? Well, let me tell you!

 


INGREDIENTS: 

 

1) Aloe Vera: It has healing properties and can help reduce the appearance of scars. It is also a moisturizer and can help lock moisture into the skin. It also has the ability to help build collagen and elastic which means less wrinkles and younger, tighter looking skin. Yes, please! It also has antioxidants which can help the skin repair sun damage.

2) Sweet Almond oil: It has anti-aging process and helps reduce wrinkles! It can also help with those dark circles under the eyes. It also helps to smooth out the skin and help dry skin retain moisture.

IMPORTANT: if you are allergic to nuts, don’t use Almond Oil

3) Jojoba oil: It can trick your skin into producing less oils if you have combination or oily skin, but it can also act like your natural oils and help retain moisture at the same time without clogging the pores. Since it can trick the skin into thinking it is your natural oils, it can get deep into the pores and get moisture deep into your tissues. It helps with acne, blackheads, and inflammation (rosacea).

4) Vegetable Glycerin: It is great for it’s anti-aging properties and it is also a powerful moisturizer. Unlike the other products, vegetable glycerin actually draws oxygen into the cells which helps you look more youthful.  It helps with acne, eczema, and psoriasis.

 

HOW TO MAKE IT:

 

4 TBSP aloe vera JUICE– not gel!

1/4 tsp Sweet Almond Oil

6 drops of jojoba oil

1 tsp of vegetable glycerin

It all fits nicely into a small mason jar. Just make sure that you shake it a bit before you use it because the oils have different densities so they separate.  

 

 

 

 

2 Comments on “DIY facial lotion for dry, sensitive and red skin.”

  1. I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This type of
    clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.